WINDOWS HELP thread...
kmfdm_kid2000
DIRECTOR
One Winged Angel
Spooky Kid

adminflash
kmfdm_kid2000's Avatar

Posts: 3016
Joined: Jan 2002
Post Mar 14th 2002 at 3:46 am
:argue: If you are having Operating system problems/ questions, post here, I'm a near expert w/ all versions of Windows...
_____________________


MUSIC! CLICK!


KMFDM better than the best, Megalomenaiacal & harder than the rest!
aleron235
Super Moderator
Earth's Last Hope

bluestarbluestarbluestarbluestarbluestar
aleron235's Avatar

Posts: 514
Joined: Mar 2002
Post Mar 14th 2002 at 8:47 pm
How do you start Windows ME from the DOS prompt?
_____________________

IM Me!
AtmaWeapon65
Super Moderator
The Dead And Legendary

bluestarbluestarbluestarbluestarbluestar
AtmaWeapon65's Avatar

Posts: 733
Joined: Jul 2001
Post Mar 14th 2002 at 11:44 pm
We have a computer expert and an expert in HTML, Java, and all those other languages and such.. Now we got the best of BOTH worlds!
_____________________

One fish, two fish, red fish, blue fish!
kmfdm_kid2000
DIRECTOR
One Winged Angel
Spooky Kid

adminflash
kmfdm_kid2000's Avatar

Posts: 3016
Joined: Jan 2002
Post Mar 15th 2002 at 9:00 am
Well, I believe that typing WIN, Wndows, or win.exe might do the trick, but why would you want to not start Windows ME normally??? In what situation would you want to start it from a DOS prompt???:fire: :argue: lol Big Grinie:
_____________________


MUSIC! CLICK!


KMFDM better than the best, Megalomenaiacal & harder than the rest!
aleron235
Super Moderator
Earth's Last Hope

bluestarbluestarbluestarbluestarbluestar
aleron235's Avatar

Posts: 514
Joined: Mar 2002
Post Mar 15th 2002 at 8:25 pm
I want to update my BIOS.....I can't flash it when the OS is running....
_____________________

IM Me!
kmfdm_kid2000
DIRECTOR
One Winged Angel
Spooky Kid

adminflash
kmfdm_kid2000's Avatar

Posts: 3016
Joined: Jan 2002
Post Mar 16th 2002 at 12:27 am
I never really flash BIOS...I usually just buy a new CMOS Chip, yank out the old one w/ an IC Chip remover, & plug in the new one...My BIOS is Copyright 2000, Intel, & there won't be a need for me to do this for a while...Look on www.download.com for a BIOS Flash utility, or Download "Sandra" A benchmarking program that will tell you how to flash a bios I believe...lol Big Grinie:
_____________________


MUSIC! CLICK!


KMFDM better than the best, Megalomenaiacal & harder than the rest!
aleron235
Super Moderator
Earth's Last Hope

bluestarbluestarbluestarbluestarbluestar
aleron235's Avatar

Posts: 514
Joined: Mar 2002
Post Mar 16th 2002 at 12:30 am
I already have Sandra, and it doesn't tell you how to flash a BIOS.....
_____________________

IM Me!
kmfdm_kid2000
DIRECTOR
One Winged Angel
Spooky Kid

adminflash
kmfdm_kid2000's Avatar

Posts: 3016
Joined: Jan 2002
Post Mar 16th 2002 at 3:41 am
Hmmm, Really??? Lemmie consult Evil Incarnate, he'll know how to do it...I never really Flashed a BIOS before to be honest, never needed too, but I'm sure he'll know...lol Big Grinie:
_____________________


MUSIC! CLICK!


KMFDM better than the best, Megalomenaiacal & harder than the rest!
MINX
& J.R.
star6star6
MINX's Avatar

Posts: 40
Joined: Mar 2002
Post Mar 16th 2002 at 9:58 pm
Big Grinie:
Happy now kmfdm... now i'm posting.

Look guys, if you have any real questions that kmfdm_kid2000 cant answer, have him get to slamedsilver. He usually asks me anyway, you might as well remind him.
_____________________

AtmaWeapon65
Super Moderator
The Dead And Legendary

bluestarbluestarbluestarbluestarbluestar
AtmaWeapon65's Avatar

Posts: 733
Joined: Jul 2001
Post Mar 16th 2002 at 10:00 pm
Welcome, MINX, nice to see a new member here!
_____________________

One fish, two fish, red fish, blue fish!
kmfdm_kid2000
DIRECTOR
One Winged Angel
Spooky Kid

adminflash
kmfdm_kid2000's Avatar

Posts: 3016
Joined: Jan 2002
Post Mar 16th 2002 at 11:10 pm
No, I usually ask Evil Incarnate, B/c he's here in NYC, & you just ignore me & never post, but it's good to see you here, none the less...:fire: lol Big Grinie:
_____________________


MUSIC! CLICK!


KMFDM better than the best, Megalomenaiacal & harder than the rest!
kmfdm_kid2000
DIRECTOR
One Winged Angel
Spooky Kid

adminflash
kmfdm_kid2000's Avatar

Posts: 3016
Joined: Jan 2002
Post Mar 16th 2002 at 11:17 pm
I believe while you're booting if you hold F8 it'll bring you to an option to boot to a prompt...I didn't fully understand what you were saying, now I do...lol Big Grinie:
_____________________


MUSIC! CLICK!


KMFDM better than the best, Megalomenaiacal & harder than the rest!
aleron235
Super Moderator
Earth's Last Hope

bluestarbluestarbluestarbluestarbluestar
aleron235's Avatar

Posts: 514
Joined: Mar 2002
Post Mar 20th 2002 at 1:58 am
When I press F8, it gives me an option to start in Normal or Safe Mode......
_____________________

IM Me!
kmfdm_kid2000
DIRECTOR
One Winged Angel
Spooky Kid

adminflash
kmfdm_kid2000's Avatar

Posts: 3016
Joined: Jan 2002
Post Mar 20th 2002 at 8:01 am
I know it's one of the function keys I believe...Doesn't hurt trying them all I guess if U have time....:bounce: Big Grinie:
_____________________


MUSIC! CLICK!


KMFDM better than the best, Megalomenaiacal & harder than the rest!
shiesty
Designer
boobookitty�

star6star6
shiesty's Avatar

Posts: 111
Joined: Mar 2002
Post Mar 22nd 2002 at 1:09 am
whoa.. that's a dangerous thing...one false move and you are screwed buddies.. i wouldn't recommend flashing them suckers unless you really know your shyt down packed... i'm talking bout like A+++++++++++ N+++++++++ certified and all that... hell Bill gates / intel certified.. lol..
_____________________


My new website
My current website

I thought he was a man
but he was just a little boy!!!
kmfdm_kid2000
DIRECTOR
One Winged Angel
Spooky Kid

adminflash
kmfdm_kid2000's Avatar

Posts: 3016
Joined: Jan 2002
Post Mar 22nd 2002 at 7:47 am
I'm A+ Certified!!! I want my N+ by next semester, & my CNA (Novell, I already got the Nursing CNA, Bleh!!!) too!!!
_____________________


MUSIC! CLICK!


KMFDM better than the best, Megalomenaiacal & harder than the rest!
Dark Magus
Co-Founder of RPG Palace
star5star5
Dark Magus's Avatar

Posts: 919
Joined: Jul 2001
Post Mar 26th 2002 at 5:13 pm
ahhh thats kewl K_Kid!!
cause i always find new and exciting way of totattly screwing up my computer!
_____________________

Ferret
Moderator
Uncreative

greenstargreenstargreenstargreenstargreenstar
Ferret's Avatar

Posts: 373
Joined: Mar 2002
Post Mar 27th 2002 at 11:10 pm
My floppy drive doesn't work... Help me. Confused
_____________________

Tech Support: "I need you to boot the computer."
Customer: (THUMP! Pause.) "No, that didn't help."

kmfdm_kid2000
DIRECTOR
One Winged Angel
Spooky Kid

adminflash
kmfdm_kid2000's Avatar

Posts: 3016
Joined: Jan 2002
Post Mar 27th 2002 at 11:45 pm
Well, Replacing a floppy drive is really easy, Buy one for like $10, open the case, Unscrew the floppy drive from the Chassis, Take out the Ribbon cable, MAKE A NOTE OF THE RED STRIPE, THAT IS PIN 1!!! IF YOU PUT IT IN BACKWARDS, THR FLOPPY LIGHT WILL STAY ON!!! Then Remove the power cable from the old floppy...Just try to make sure everythings plugged in the EXACT SAME WAY!!! This should solve any floppy issues, as a new drive is seriously cheap. If this doesn't fix it, there is a problem w/ your Floppy drive Controller on your Mother board, OR there is a Driver issue, which I highly Doubt w/ a floppy drive...
_____________________


MUSIC! CLICK!


KMFDM better than the best, Megalomenaiacal & harder than the rest!
Ferret
Moderator
Uncreative

greenstargreenstargreenstargreenstargreenstar
Ferret's Avatar

Posts: 373
Joined: Mar 2002
Post Mar 28th 2002 at 12:29 am
I tried replacing it... Didn't help. Frown


Any way to fix that floppy drive controller?
_____________________

Tech Support: "I need you to boot the computer."
Customer: (THUMP! Pause.) "No, that didn't help."

kmfdm_kid2000
DIRECTOR
One Winged Angel
Spooky Kid

adminflash
kmfdm_kid2000's Avatar

Posts: 3016
Joined: Jan 2002
Post Mar 28th 2002 at 12:32 am
Hmmm, what are the Symptoms??? Does the light come on at all???
_____________________


MUSIC! CLICK!


KMFDM better than the best, Megalomenaiacal & harder than the rest!
Ferret
Moderator
Uncreative

greenstargreenstargreenstargreenstargreenstar
Ferret's Avatar

Posts: 373
Joined: Mar 2002
Post Mar 28th 2002 at 12:34 am
I dunno.. Doesn't bother to look at the stupid thing at startups anymore...
_____________________

Tech Support: "I need you to boot the computer."
Customer: (THUMP! Pause.) "No, that didn't help."

Ferret
Moderator
Uncreative

greenstargreenstargreenstargreenstargreenstar
Ferret's Avatar

Posts: 373
Joined: Mar 2002
Post Mar 28th 2002 at 12:02 pm
Double post... Somebody kill me!


I checked if the light would come on when i turned the computer on. It did.... Smile
_____________________

Tech Support: "I need you to boot the computer."
Customer: (THUMP! Pause.) "No, that didn't help."

Andrew Keystone
Fighter for Hire...
star6star6
Andrew Keystone's Avatar

Posts: 57
Joined: Mar 2002
Post Apr 6th 2002 at 4:17 pm
Originally posted by aleron235
I want to update my BIOS.....I can't flash it when the OS is running....


1. Who made your system?
2. Make and model number?
3. Make and model # of your motherboard?

Answer them and I can help you! Smile
_____________________

Visit my sites or else!!! Big Grin

Andrew Keystone
Fighter for Hire...
star6star6
Andrew Keystone's Avatar

Posts: 57
Joined: Mar 2002
Post Apr 6th 2002 at 4:19 pm
Originally posted by aleron235
When I press F8, it gives me an option to start in Normal or Safe Mode......


That's cuz you have to hit the [DEL] or delete key. ^^
_____________________

Visit my sites or else!!! Big Grin

kmfdm_kid2000
DIRECTOR
One Winged Angel
Spooky Kid

adminflash
kmfdm_kid2000's Avatar

Posts: 3016
Joined: Jan 2002
Post Apr 14th 2002 at 6:30 pm
Gawd, I'm a dope, I forgot about that...I think F8 is for Step by Step boot up, w/ an option for safe mode, & F5 is just safe mode on older windows at least...:007: :1:
_____________________


MUSIC! CLICK!


KMFDM better than the best, Megalomenaiacal & harder than the rest!